IRG-Rail holds the Plenary Assembly in Warsaw


The Independent Regulators’ Group ‐ Rail (IRG-Rail) held its Plenary Assembly on November 9th -10th in Warsaw, Poland.

The rail regulators from 27 European countries attended the meeting and approved several documents. The Plenary Assembly adopted a common position on market segment definition and criteria for an assessment of mark-ups in the light of Directive 2012/34/EU. The Plenary Assembly agreed also on guidelines to the calculation of direct costs in respect of implementing regulation 2015/909 and reviewed both the charging practices for the minimum access package and charging principles for passenger stations in Europe. The Plenary Assembly approved IRG-Rail Work Programme for 2017.

The Plenary Assembly elected Mr. Andrea Camanzi, the President of the Italian Regulatory Body, Autorità di Regolazione dei Trasporti, as IRG-Rail Vice-Chair for 2017. The next Plenary Assembly will be held in 2017 and will be chaired by Mrs. Anne Yvrande-Billon, the Vice President of ARAFER, the French Regulatory Body, the current IRG-Rail Vice-Chair. Mr. Radosław Pacewicz, the Director General of UTK, chairs IRG-Rail in 2016.

Note to editors:

1. The IRG-Rail is a network of independent rail Regulatory Bodies from twenty-nine European countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Portugal, Ireland and Serbia.

2. Further information can be found on IRG-Rail website at

go up