About the IRG-Rail

IRG-Rail is the „Independent Regulators’ Group – Rail”, a network currently comprising independent rail Regulatory Bodies from 31 European countries, including Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.

Foundation and Mission

On 9 June 2011 fifteen independent rail Regulatory Bodies signed the "Memorandum of Understanding” for the establishment of the Independent Regulators’ Group-Rail. They have voluntarily formed the group to facilitate cooperation in their common interests for the promotion of the internal railways market. UTK joined IRG-Rail in 2012.

Objectives and Functions

The overall aim of the Independent Regulators’ Group – Rail is to facilitate the creation of a single, competitive, efficient and sustainable internal railways market in Europe. The IRG-Rail acts as a platform for cooperation, information exchange and sharing of best practice between national railway regulators in order to face current and future regulatory challenges in railways and to promote a consistent application of the European regulatory framework.


The IRG-Rail is represented by a Chair and a Vice-Chair. The Chair has a term of one year, whereas before serving his or her term as Chair, he or she shall first serve one year as Vice-Chair.

Every year the Plenary Assembly appoints a person who shall act as Vice-Chair in the following year and Chair in the year after that. A candidate must be the head (meaning chairperson, board member, president, vice-president or any other similar senior executive) of a Regulatory Body and be appointed by the Regulatory Body.

Apart from representing the IRG-Rail, the Chair or the Vice-Chair convenes ordinary and extraordinary (at the request of at least a quarter of its Members) meetings of the Plenary Assembly and submits the draft annual Work Programme to the Plenary Assembly for approval.

President of the Polish Office of Rail Transport Krzysztof Dyl was elected Vice-Chair of IRG-Rail in 2015 and Chair in 2016. In February 2016 Krzysztof Dyl resigned as the President of the Office of Rail Transport and new election was conducted. On 9th March 2016 General Director of the Office of Rail Transport Radosław Pacewicz has been elected IRG-Rail Chair untill the end of 2016.

In 2018 Andrea Camanzi, the President of the Italian Transport Regulation Authority (ART) serves as IRG-Rail Chair and Joao Carvalho, the President of the Portuguese Transport Regulation Authority (AMT) is Vice-Chair.

go up